6 Lessons You’ll Learn While Training For A Marathon

Thought Catalog

shutterstock.comshutterstock.com

For the past four months, I have been training for my first marathon. It has been a demanding endeavor, both physically and mentally. Now, I’m no expert or champion runner, but I do believe that I have learned some valuable lessons, and I would like to share them with any fellow runners who may be entertaining the thought of running a marathon.

1. TRAIN.

If you want to run a marathon, you have to train for it. Period. There will be people who will say, “Oh, I ran a marathon, but I like, BARELY trained for it.” Seriously, screw those people. They are either lying, or they put their body through extreme, unhealthy, and unnecessary suffering by running a distance that it was in no way prepared for. It doesn’t matter what kind of training plan you use (although I am partial to Hal Higdon — look him up)…

View original post 823 more words

Leave a Reply

