How You Know When You’ve Found Where You Belong

Thought Catalog

Studying abroad was a luxury that I thought I would never be able to afford. Even though I’ve always loved to travel and was lucky enough to go to Europe twice as a teenager, with the cost of college I never fathomed being able to study on the other side of the world. Somehow, I made it happen. I worked my ass off, and with the help of my family and friends (and the loan company), I’ve just finished a six-month semester in England.

As I sit here on my last day, I’m overwhelmed with sadness, happiness, memories, and mostly intense gratitude towards the kindness of strangers.

I didn’t take the normal route for studying abroad — instead of enrolling in a program to take me across the ocean, I direct-enrolled at a British university for a semester. I had no one to fly with, no one to meet at…

View original post 606 more words

Leave a Reply

