26.2!!!

Thought I would include a follow up post on this blog because I RAN MY MARATHON I HAVE BEEN TRAINING FOR for about 6 months in total!!!!
Excessive punctuation
was definitely necessary especially because I am still in shock that I was able to do it.
I ran the first 10 miles with the 4:40 pace group then soon realized I shouldn’t because I trained to finish, not for time!! Anyway as it worked out the first half of the marathon was easy – I beat my only other official half marathon time by 7 minutes (2:20 split) and that was with conserving energy for the second half! Anyway the course was beautiful and I began to lose steam at about mile 20- expected because that’s where I lost steam in my long run training.
I was determined not to walk at all however! I was going so slow at one point before mile 21 that the medical team asked me if I needed help. I said no and kept going!
Though it felt like it was never going to end, I finished strong and immediately felt like I could do it again!!!

Can’t wait to see what the running world has in store for me next! Though training near my house in bc isn’t the most fun I am still so excited. It’s such a great world and great feeling!

Ps. My time, while not the fastest, is still something I am very proud of! 5:20. I was worried about time for the first half but then a fellow runner said something very valuable to me – better to enjoy my race than stress over a time. I have the rest of my life to run more marathons and improve on it!

20140622-110655-40015918.jpg

20140622-110656-40016744.jpg

20140622-110655-40015514.jpg

Leave a Reply

