On Being Alone

In light of my recent trip to Paris on my own, I’ve come to realize that this year has really boosted my confidence in being independent. Before I left for my exchange, I always considered myself an independent person – I had no problem going shopping by myself, getting a coffee by myself, going to the gym or library by myself, etc. After being at a University like Stfx though, where you can’t go anywhere with at least saying “hi” to someone you know decently well, Bangor is such a contrast.

Looking back onto the school year, there have been countless times where I’ve found myself in almost awkward alone situations; the most prominent and stereotypical being having nowhere to eat my lunch. Just today I had to scarf down a sandwich while walking from my lab project to the library. However, I’ve come to realize that these experiences teach you a lot about the way you operate, in many ways.

On the other side of the scale, I’ve also learned to do things alone such as book flights, plan trips, look at maps, and ask for instructions. The fact that I can do this is empowering; from now on everything I do can be up to me, and no one else.

When I was young  I couldn’t wait to grow up. And I’m not going to lie, now that I’m here, it’s pretty sweet.

 

One thought on “On Being Alone

  1. You know, it was also at a school where I learned how to be confident even when I’m alone. I was taking just a few classes in this one school and I didn’t really know anyone, so I learned how to eat on my own and spend free time by myself. So I can relate. :) Thanks for sharing this piece.

Leave a Reply

