Last few days of the April trip

Finally catching up on my last blog post – my final days of my trip were spent in Paris, then London to visit Rory!

It was Easter Sunday in Paris on my final day, and I had a wonderful walk to Sacre Coeur Cathedral after breakfast and a coffee at an outside cafe. I walked up to the cathedral but it was SO packed – I just had a quick look at the outside and left. It didn’t help that there were so many hecklers outside trying to tie bracelets on you etc – I had heard about these scams and it was kind of weird to see it in action. I then walked to Moulin Rouge, which was in the red light district – don’t worry mom it wasn’t sketchy at all! I felt less safe on the Reeperbahn in Hamburg.

I then walked around Montmartre, probably my favourite area of the city. It was just blocks and blocks of bakeries, cheese shops, coffee shops, and meat rotisserie stores and it was heavenly. I had a pain au chocolat blanc, which was a roll with white chocolate in it and it was simply heavenly. I then walked down to the eiffel tower area and got myself a delicious treat – a raspberry tart, which i enjoyed in front of the Eiffel tower. After hanging out there for a while, I waited at the hostel until 10pm for my megabus then set off for london! I have so many good things to say about this company – fast, affordable, efficient, and at a price almost as cheap as a night in a Paris hostel over Easter weekend. We again arrived in London at 7:00 am – half an hour ahead of schedule!

While in London, I spent some time recovering from the bus ride and on Tuesday Rory and I walked around the city. London still remains my favourite city – it is just so civilized and clean. We walked along the Thames and then to Buckingham Palace, then had dinner just off Oxford street at this delicious restaurant called Meat Liquor; the best burgers and fries I’ve had in a while. We tried to shop at Primark but it was way too busy.

Now I’m home, just finished an assignment and now back to marathon training, studying for exams, and my lab project! I’ll try and do some exciting things in the meantime and will keep you updated!

Til then, here are some photos from Paris and London:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIMG_7143 IMG_7147 IMG_7155 IMG_7160 IMG_7161 IMG_7164 IMG_7166

 

4 thoughts on “Last few days of the April trip

Leave a Reply

